Coming Soon!

A sneak preview of my next children’s novel, due to be published by John Hunt’s Our Street Imprint!

It was first written several years ago and it has taken a long time and a major rewrite to reach this stage, which I will explain about nearer to publication. In the meantime, I can reveal to the world the artwork for the cover:
ghost-of-blackbottle-rock-cover-8-5x5-5-300dpi-1

 

Like many authors, I’m used to not having much say in my covers and as a consequence being unhappy with the outcome. Long-term followers might recall how bitterly disappointed I was with the inappropriately brutal and garish cover for my ‘cosy crime’ Victorian detective novel Murder in Montague Place) (But the book itself is a literary landmark – and a snip at £2.99 for the Kindle edition!)

But I’m really thrilled with this. Not only is it wonderfully atmospheric and has all the features I wanted just as I envisaged them, but it does look a lot like the real-life location where the story is based – my favourite haunt (no pun intended!) of Polruan in Cornwall.

polruan2

A less spooky view. I’ve treated myself to a writer’s retreat in the white building with the black sign on it on many happy occasions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The main reason for this coming about is that I was able to discuss it with the artist myself on this occasion. I do a lot of my writing in my local Caffe Nero, where I was fortunate enough to come across the talented Kay De Garay, whom I had spotted beavering away with a sketch pad. She very kindly offered to take the job on, and here is the result for all to see.

The book should be coming out in the next few months, so watch this space!

 

 

About ramblesofawriter

Writer, thinker, tea drinker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

