So near…

…yet so far.

I’ve been flogging a children’s novel for some time in the hope of finding a publisher or agent. I’ realistic and would normally have given up by now, but because I really believe in it I’ve been doggedly determined to see it through to the bitter end.

I cam across a firm called Austin Macauley, and received fast and positive feedback of a kind that put me on my guard. When I read that they do sometimes ask for an author to contribute, my long-range sensors were on full-alert.

Today, I was finally welcomed into their fold. With a sting in the tail. This is my reply:

Dear Austin Macauley,

I have just received warm praise and an offer of publication from your company, informing me that you require me to cough up just under £3,000 for a comprehensive publishing deal – since publishing would represent ‘something of a risk’ to you as publishers (which is kind of a definition of what it is to be a publisher, if you stop to think about it).

After some mature consideration (ie 0.5 seconds) I have decided that his offer represents something of financial risk to me also. I’m sure the Board were waiting with baited breath and I’m sorry to disappoint them, but there you go.

Best wishes,

Martyn Beardsley

About ramblesofawriter

Writer, thinker, tea drinker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

