BKS Iyengar

This blog is supposed to be mostly about writing and words (and occasionally bin collections), but this morning I read of the passing at the age of 95 of possibly the most influential Yoga teacher of modern times .

People have often commented that I look young for my age – which was a bane when I

BKS Iyengar aged 71

BKS Iyengar aged 71

was young (and led me to grow a moustache as soon as hormones would allow) but is quite nice now. I freely admit that it’s a lot to do with genes, but I’ve practised Yoga since I was sixteen and I like to think there’s a link there too.

My first influence was the Sivananda (another great teacher who helped to spread Yoga to the West) system, but as soon as I discovered Iyengar Yoga I became a convert, even though I’ve continued to dabble in both not terribly dissimilar schools.

I never had the chance to attend a class led by Iyengar himself, which in one way is a shame. But he was a demanding teacher who could be forceful (I’m sure with a twinkle in his eye) when getting people into exactly the right posture. I once read that some students claimed that the BKS stood for Bang Kick Slap.

He was one of those rare people whose status expands well beyond their chosen field.

bksi

About ramblesofawriter

Writer, thinker, tea drinker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

