Custard Creams

One of the all-time greats in the world of biscuits, and one of my personal favourites. I was watching a programme on TV recently which revealed a very interesting fact about the Custard Cream. Custard_cream_biscuit

I was vaguely aware that there was some sort of fancy pattern on the front of the biscuit, and I assumed it was merely a random design. But apparently it is meant to represent ferns, because the Custard Cream was invented at a time when fern collecting was a major craze in Britain.

This was particularly interesting to me because the Victorian fern collecting craze (“pteridomania”) features in my Inspector Bucket novel, Murder in Montague Place

Buy...buy...

Buy…buy…

 

 

 

 

 

 

I came across it by accident while I was researching the period when the story was set, and decided to work it into a sub-plot involving one of the central characters! Custard Creams, however, don’t feature in the novel, sadly – they came along a little later.

About ramblesofawriter

Writer, thinker, tea drinker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Custard Creams

  1. chloefb says:

    This is really weird because I bought custard creams the other day (for the first time in years), then last night when I was scoffing biscuits I suddenly wondered (for the first time ever) why they had such a fancy pattern. Less than 24 hours later and here is this post! How’s that for a coincidence? Get out of my head!

Leave a Reply

