Daphne Du Maurier 2

Here’s the next extract from Myself When Young – not about Fowey and Cornwall this time, but the kind of over-active childhood imagination I suspect will be recognised by many a writer. Certainly me!

I was Edward Royle, the narrator, the young second mate, and if Jeanne [her sister] could hardly bellow as the bully Captain Coxon, at least she could shout. “Clew up the main-sail and furl it,” and stamp her foot.

“The biscuits are full of weevils, and the port stinks,” I would mutter as we ate our lunch in the kitchen, Jeanne nodding vigorously, while Nurse Netta stared at us in consternation.

But the book became rather sloppy towards the end, because Edward Royle, after the mutiny and the shipwreck, turned soppy over the passenger Mary Robinson. “I pressed my darling to me”. No, this wouldn’t do at all. I skipped all that part and went back to the mutiny.

[I was looking for a suitable illustration – then decided to search for the actual characters she mentioned. I wasn’t even sure it existed, but to my surprise I found the very book!]

$_57

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About ramblesofawriter

Writer, thinker, tea drinker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

