Good Old Bad Old Days

During a clear-out of the attic I came across my first (and as far as I recall, only) manual typewriter. It was a very cheap, basic one that I think I got out of a catalogue.

I’m pretty sure I wrote my first children’s book on it, and bought an electronic word processor with the proceeds before soon afterwards going on to join the computer age.

It’s interesting to compare the me of then and now. Using a typewriter makes you much more My first typewritercareful, even though I wrote long-hand first then typed things up. I’m pretty sure my spelling has deteriorated after years of having a spellchecker to do a lot of my thinking for me. In my haste I even make basic mistakes now that I thought I’d ironed out as a schoolboy, such as mixing up their and there, and putting apostrophes in the wrong place.

Being a nostalgic person to an unhealthy degree, it brings back fond memories and I when I took it out of the plastic bag and dusted it off I almost want to start using it again – but it only takes a little consideration to make even me shudder at the thought of having to write, correct and redraft a whole novel on it now!

 

About ramblesofawriter

Writer, thinker, tea drinker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Old Bad Old Days

  1. samledyard says:

    Plus, how would you blog on a typewriter?

  2. chloefb says:

    Awww, I remember playing on my mum’s typewriter before we had a computer. I was the last in my class to get a computer – not til I was 13 or 14. That would already be unthinkable less than 15 years later!

  3. Ahh, you’re showing your age old girl!

Leave a Reply

