Last of the Summer Wine

I’ve just finished reading a book of the same name by Andrew Vine about the history and making of this series, and I can’t recommend it highly enough to anyone who has ever taken an interest in the programme.

I spotted it at the library and dipped into it, I must admit, because I knew there were stories about members of the cast not getting on and I just wanted a bit of juicy gossip. However, I got drawn into it, ended up taking it home, didn’t want to put it down, and read it in two days.

There was some friction between certain of the original cast members, but that was mainly down to personal incompatibilities, and by and large they all come out of it pretty well.

What surprised me the most about the book was how moved I was by it. And the more I read it the more moving it became as the old guard got older, sicker, and eventually died one by one. The chapters describing Bill Owen’s (Compo’s) last days – he worked right up till the end – and the one about the end of the series and the final shoot in Holmfirth – are real lump in the throat moments.

Farewell Compo, Clegg, Foggy and all.

About ramblesofawriter

Writer, thinker, tea drinker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

