Trail of Tears

They made us many promises, more than I can remember; but they never kept but one: they promised to take our land and they took it

Soux Elder c1890

I’ve always been fascinated by the American West. When I was a kid it was the cowboys who were my heroes, but for very many years it’s the story of the American Indian which has really captivated me.

I’m currently making my way through a couple of really good books on the subject – but no matter how many times I hear the same stories the effect on me has never weakened. So much suffering, so many lies and broken promises, the destruction of whole cultures in such a short space of time in the “land of the free” is so heart-breaking that I can sometimes hardly bear to carry on reading.

About ramblesofawriter

Writer, thinker, tea drinker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

