London Snow

London Snow

Okay, it’s not exactly topical, but I’ve just come across this poem by Robert Bridges in an anthology I keep dipping into. At first sight it seems very simple and almost child-like, but I soon began to love the rhythms, alliteration and generally clever but somehow joyful use of words. I hadn’t heard of Robert Bridges before but I’ll be looking out for more of his poems in future. This is the first few lines:

When men were asleep the snow came flying,

In large white flakes falling on the city brown,

Stealthily and perpetually settling and loosely lying,

Hushing the latest traffic of the drowsy town;

Deadening, muffling, stifling, its murmurs failing;

Lazily sifting and veiling road, roof and railing;

Hiding difference, making unevenness even,

Into angles and crevices softly drifting and sailing.

About ramblesofawriter

Writer, thinker, tea drinker.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.